Cleveland Plain Dealer: Beethoven: Late Quartets, Vol. 2

The Cleveland Plain Dealer /
Sunday, July 11, 2010
by Zachary Lewis

Beethoven: Late Quartets, Vol. 2
Cypress String Quartet
Cypress Performing Arts Association

In the forest of Beethoven recordings, the Cypress String Quartet's are some of the mightiest trees. Compounding the success of its first installment of late-Beethoven quartets, the San Francisco-based ensemble here considers the great B-Flat Major, Op. 130, offering special insight by including both the original "Grosse Fuge" and the later, alternate finale. The performances are masterly: technically assured and lucidly conversational. After this, one can hardly wait for the third and final release. Grade: A