Posts Tagged ‘impressionist’

Debussy, Suk & Cotton

Claude Debussy: String Quartet in G Minor, Op. 10
Josef Suk: Barcarolle & Ballade
Jeffery Cotton: String Quartet No. 1

The music featured on this disk represents the varied interests of the Cypress String Quartet; a "masterpiece", an overlooked "jewel", and a Cypress-commissioned quartet. The Debussy Quartet, written in 1893 in Paris, began a revolution in string writing that ushered in the 20th Century. Composed just a few years earlier but worlds away in Prague, the Suk pieces represent the end of the romantic period. The Jeffery Cotton Quartet, composed for the Cypress in 2003, looks back with respectful fascination at the string quartet tradition and leads us on an inspiring journey that ends in the heart of German Cabaret of the 1920's.

Purchase this album direct from the artists at

  • Debussy 1 1. Claude Debussy Quartet in G Minor, Op.10 - I. Animé et trè décidé 6:06
  • Debussy 2 2. Debussy - II. Assez vif et bien rhythmé 3:44
  • Debussy 3 3. Debussy - III. Andatino doucement expressif 6:59
  • Debussy 4 4. Debussy - IV. Très modéré 7:13
  • Suk 1 5. Josef Suk Barcarolle & Ballade - I. Barcarolle 2:11
  • 6. Josef Suk Barcarolle & Ballade - II. Ballade 3:49
  • 7. Jeffery Cotton String Quartet No.1 - I. Overture 8:55
  • Cotton 2 8. Cotton - II. Capriccio 3:25
  • 9. Cotton - III. Chorale and Cabaret 10:49
  • 10. Cotton - IV. Variations 8:18


For Debussy, Suk & Cotton
"Say what you want about a crisis in classical music - the Cypress Quartet is not listening. This new recording of works by Debussy, Suk and Cotton is full of an overwhelming joy and enthusiasm for the cause. With an exceptional level of technical skill and thoroughly convincing interpretations they have created a beautiful addition to the catalogue. The unusual pairing of repertoire is consistent with their mission of celebrating the new and less known with the same level of commitment they bring to the 'standard' repertoire. The recorded sound is beautiful. Mark Willsher has captured a true and natural quartet sound, and there is a real intimacy to the overall effect of the recording. Bravo."
- Barry Shiffman, Director of Music Program, The Banff Centre

Haydn, Ravel & Schulhoff

Franz Joseph Haydn: String Quartet in D Major, Op. 76 No. 5
Maurice Ravel: String Quartet in F Major
Ervin Schulhoff: Five Pieces for String Quartet

This album packages together three distinct and flamboyantly beautiful works. Haydn's String Quartet in D Major shows him exploring form and structure while examining the depth of emotional experience. Ravel's String Quartet is one of the most pleasing works in the standard repertoire, filled with exotic influences and invention. The Five Pieces for String Quartet by Ervin Schulhoff are delightful dances, some humorous and some satirical in character. Schulhoff created miniature pictures of popular dances including a Viennese Waltz, an Arabic dance, a Czech folk dance, an evocative Tango and a rollicking Tarantella.

Buy this album direct from the artists (digital download only) at

  • Haydn 1 1. Franz Joseph Haydn Quartet in D Major, Op.76 No.5 - I. Allegretto - Allegro 4:45
  • 2. Haydn - II. Largo ma non troppo; cantabile e mesto 7:33
  • 3. Haydn - III. Menuetto: Allegro ma non troppo 3:00
  • Haydn 4 4. Haydn - IV. Finale: Presto 3:47
  • Ravel 1 5. Ravel: String Quartet in F Major - Allegro moderato, Tres doux 7:47
  • Ravel 2 6. Assez vif, Tres rythme 6:01
  • Ravel 3 7. Tres lent 8:16
  • Ravel 4 8. Vif et agite 5:25
  • Schulhoff 1 9. Schulhoff: Five Pieces for String Quartet - Alla Valse Viennese: Allegro 2:13
  • Schulhoff 2 10. Alla Serenata: Allegretto con moto 3:02
  • Schulhoff 3 11. Alla Czeca: Molto allegro 1:40
  • Schulhoff 4 12. Alla Tango Milonga: Andante 4:01
  • Schulhoff 5 13. Alla Tarantella: Prestissimo con fuoco 2:43


For Haydn, Ravel & Schulhoff
"Ahhh.. they have done it again and brought us another exquisite album of string quartets. Based in San Francisco, the Cypress String Quartet bestows upon us this elegant and electric album with pure artistry that exudes ease, passion and integrity. They float along the sweet and delicate melodies of Haydn, the ghostly and poignant harmonic colors of Ravel and the exotic, energetic flair of Ervin Schulhoff with the same unwavering conviction and dedication. Bravo!"